Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the development of modern society, each person is forced to receive all kinds of information every day. Some people believe that it is not necessary to know about events happening around the world as they are unlikely to affect our daily life. On contrary, I hold the opposite opinion.

In the first place, discussing events happening around the world is an effective way to enlarge our social connections. Take myself as an example. I am keen in travelling which provide me with opportunities to meet new people. Since it is the first time we have met, we hardly know much about each other. With talking about events all over world, we can easily get alone and find common interests. Other than meeting with stranger, it is common to see people talk about the recent news with acquaintances in their daily lives, such as colleagues at workplaces. Without know the topics, it is hard for them to blend in.

On top of that, knowing events around the world also benefits us by promoting self-improvement, especially in the scientific fields. By knowing the most recent advances in the field, scientists can avoid wasting time and resources on repetition of efforts. Instead, they can apply those advanced knowledge and skills into further studies.

In summary, I am convinced that it is important to knowing about events happening around the world, no matter if they will not affect our daily life.