Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When people are in trouble, they usually tend to ask others for help, especially the young people. In the past, advice from parents seemed to be reliable and helpful. But young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives nowadays.

At the first place, with the development of modern technology, young people have easier access to worldwide information. In the past, the ways to obtain knowledge are limited, such as newspaper, television, and radio, etc. And people can only accept what are provided by those media. It is hard for them to search things they want to know. Currently, the internet allows people to get information wherever they are and whatever they want to desire by just clicking the mouse or taping on the phone. The whole process takes only several seconds or minutes.

On top of that, young people now are more likely to turn to their peers when making decisions. As they are at similar age and have similar interest, it is easier for them to communicate with each other. Social media also facilitate the interaction among the youth.

In summary, instead of depending on their parents, young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.