Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Young people today have no influence on the important decisions that determine the future of society as a whole Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Decisions made in today determines the tomorrow. Decision making is critical to the successful evolution of a society, country. Although some argue that almost all of the important decisions are made by older generation and have not influence of younger , I see a different view. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

First of all, unarguably it is the youth that drives the economy of the country as they contribute to the largest part of the working force. Since economy is one key pillar on which future society is built upon, younger generation can definitely shape the future. For example, in my country, even with a developing economy, has given power to for economic policy making. The government has identified that these fresh minds generates out of the box solutions to decades old issues which caused the economy to stale. After young blood took control of the economic related authorities, they promoted entrepreneurship and technology based startup , consequently unemployment rate hit all time low and economy growth rate was second only to China.

Secondly, in any society celebrities are more influential than any politician. Peoples trust sport stars, singers, actors, actresses and usually try to follow their advises. Furthermore, celebrities also try to guide their fans through social media platform. Since most of these celebrities are from younger generation we have to agree that , they have the power to influence the society and their decision making to build a better tomorrow. For instance, recently Sri Lankan government started a highway project which was planned to run through a fragile eco-system; primary rain forest. At the start commons supported the development project, but then young sport stars and actors with the help of environmental specialists started a social media campaign to educate people on the adverse effects of the project and importance of the protection of the rain forest. This forced the government to change project so that road do not damage the forest.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that young citizens have primary role to play in decision making. As the main contributors to the economy and celebrities who can influence many, the younger generation should use this power or the betterment of the future society and should be an example for next generation.