Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A zoo has no useful purpose. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your answer.

More and more zoos are being built in these days and people do not understand their true value. I firmly believe that a zoo has a great number of benefits for children and adults. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First and foremost, in the technological world, there are almost no chances to interact with real nature directly. However, thanks to the zoo, people can gain knowledge about the ecosystem and environment from it with more ease. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by my experience. When I was a little girl, there was no zoo in my country. Thus, I always watched these beautiful animals on TV. Nevertheless, one day I got an opportunity to travel to Singapore which had plenty of zoos. I was really looking forward to seeing it because it felt like my dream came true. During this trip, I saw hundreds of animals and even I fed them by my bare hands. Since that time, I truly wanted to become a zoologist and started to learn them from Biology books and newspapers which were the only things that I could see whenever I wanted. Today I major on zoologist as my bachelor degree and I always think that if I had not seen the zoo, I could have not understood how much it was worthwhile.

On top of this, the zoo is the only place where can protect some animals from extinction and poaching and so on. Most of the organization usually keep animals in their cages; however, in the zoo, they usually live in simulated habitats. As a result, they will feel more convenient in that area. Drawing from my own experience, Two years ago, for the first time I worked in the zoo as a part-time worker. I learned a lot of invaluable things such as how to properly take care of animals and even learned their behaviours. Some of them were born and died in the zoo, so I deeply understood how much effort the zoo spent on these animals’ lives. It goes without that zoo makes their life better because nature is becoming more harsh and ruthless and even some people are becoming monster these days. Therefore, the only rescue for these animals is the zoo.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the zoo has plenty of benefits compared to other organizations and agencies. This is because it enhances our knowledge in this area and gives a chance to interact with real nature and more importantly protects animals from inevitable disasters.