Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A teacher’s ability to relate well with students is more important than excellent knowledge of the subject being taught.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Before expressing my opinion I guess it is important to take a quick glance at the arguments on both sides. Although some people hold the view that a teacher’s ability to make a relationship with students is important, other believe that possessing an extraordinary knowledge of the subject is enough for a good teacher. From my own perspective, I concur with the first group who believe that a good teacher’s most important indicator is how well he relates to his students. I have numerous reasons why I subscribe to distinct attitude elaborating cogently in the subsequent paragraphs.

First reason coming to my mind consolidating my standpoint is that a teacher’s key role is the conveyance of information. In this regard, a teacher with a better relationship with students is possibly able to impart knowledge through his lecture and his social talks with students. In addition, he can relate student to more participant in the lecture and encourage students to have further inquiries after the lecture. For example, my econometrics class was very informative thanks to a friendly professor who asked us to join his community of research team and seminars. In contrast, I participated in another marketing class which should have been funny and active, the teacher gave us lots of information and example but did not ask us how much we understood or our difficulties. For this reason, I did not obtain much information from his class.

Another reason which deserves some words here advocating my opinion is that teachers help students learn more and sharing difficulties with them through their social life. In fact, students are not only learning the subject being taught by the teacher, they are also gaining social skills and get inspired by their teachers for growing up. In addition, teachers get close to students can understand students' most challenges related to the course. As a result, by being close, encouraged, and friendly with students, teachers could help them learn more of the course they are teaching and improve his skill of teaching. I experienced this standpoint when I was a high school student with my English teacher. My teacher taught the class English at school and talked with us about our future career, gave us advice on strategies to cope with anxiety in any kind of test. As such, all of my classmates acquired a strong knowledge of English because we felt relaxed in his class and the teacher got an award for the best teacher because he knew clearly what lacks in his class through our sharing.

To put it briefly, teaching is not just having knowledge but the more important indicator is how good a teacher engage with his students. A better relationship with students could improve students’ learning process and on the other side help the teachers to improve themselves.