Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Almost every nation has its own historical places, buildings and cultural heritage, those are assets of a nation and authorities are liable to protect and take care of them. However, some of us claimed that those buildings are valueless and need to replace with new one to progress. But, to me the law provided by for the protection of nation's history is rational due to following reasons.

First of all, those old architecture tells about a countries efforts how they change situations for better, also about the heroic people who did good to provide facilities for better generation. For instance, The great wall of china is representing the dedication of the king and effort of the people to protect nations from other. The Tajmahal was built by king Shahjahan to express his love for her wife. Those building are the wonders now as they are acting as inspiration for us, so it is totally meaningless not to protect them.

Secondly, historical places are main tourist attraction of a country. Not only it represents ones culture and art but also sets a good tourist business. Millions of money are being added to countries economy for those historical monuments. So destroying them is a way of big economic loss.

Finally, a historical building is a great object for architectural historian. Many lost civilization has come in front of us with all those buildings, also act as a source of information for research work. There are many buildings in the world which is a wonder of engineering work that acts as inspiration for modern engineer.

Therefore, replacing all old one with new buildings is just a big loss for whole nations both culturally and economically. And most importantly those monuments are taking a small place of a county. If anyone wants to build new buildings that can be done in another places without destroying those valuable work. Those history inspired us and lead us develop for far better way. With the economy that earned from tourist is helping countries to progress. Thus, history working silently to forward us.

To sum up, a historical architecture is a master piece of nations as well as a valuable asset. Government should be more dedicated and careful to beautify and protect them.