Many old buildings protected by law are a part of nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Could history stand in the way of progress?

Whether the ancient buildings should be demolished or not is a contagious issue. While many individuals believe that these old establishments should be demolished and modern constructions should be constructed, this argues that these buildings are utmost important for a nation as they provide unique identity to its nation.

To begin with the historical importance of ancient architecture, old establishments provide unique identity to a nation. For instance, monuments such as The Taj Mahal or Eiffel Tower have made India and Paris globally recognized for having such magnificent structures. In addition, such structures can also attract a significant number of tourists which would benefit a nation’s economy in the long run by providing jobs to local people. To demonstrate this point, according to archaeological survey of India usually 1 million tourists visit The Taj Mahal annually.

In my opinion, history can never alleviate a nation’s progress unless its citizens are diligent and are not orthodox. If countrymen have the mettle to perform hard work and have modern thinking, they may be more opulent while still enjoying their heritage. On the other hand, if people are stuck with their old age blind faiths because of their historical significance, it may hinder their progress. For example, China has a 4,000 year old history, yet the country is still progressing at a rapid rate due to its hard working population.

In conclusion, ancient buildings have a significant amount of importance as they have the potential to contribute to a nation’s economy, and until the people are hardworking, its progress cannot be affected by its history.