Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to

Making decisions in different aspects of life is unavoidable for all people. In the past a young person depended on her/his parents more than today for considering various factors and drawing a conclusion. Using older people’s experience might was the only available reference before. In addition, the culture and overall opinion in societies induce young people be more independent.

For a young person deciding about important subjects might be difficult. Everybody needs to consider different aspects of a subject before making a decision about that. Nowadays there are lots of books, websites, coaching and counseling services which could ease and comfort the process of choosing a specific thing. Young people access to a huge source of knowledge that were not achievable for previous generations. For instance, I can use internet to choose what I should prepare for my kid’s birthday party very easily. But in the past especially before the advent of the internet and modern technologies the most available information was older people’s experience and suggestions. So, a young person consulted with her/his parents more than today.

In my point of view, societies overall attitude and culture has changed dramatically. Today there are lot of phycological concepts, subjects and discussions about how parents could raise their kids as a stronger and wiser person. They encourage parents to trust their kids and to let their children to make mistakes and learn from that mistakes themselves. So, parents care more about growing up their children with great decision-making abilities. They tend to have more independent kids. Thus, they let their young children and teenagers make decision by their own. In contrast, in the past parents didn’t trust their children’s skills and tried to push them toward what they thought were right or better for them.

To sum up, today young people do better job in making decisions independently than they did in the past. For a young person using reachable professional consulting services and online information is an important alternative that they apply instead of asking parents to give some advice for making a decision. The opinion of parents also changed somehow that they persuade their young children decide about their life.