Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A glance at people's attitude toward decisions in the past and now, brings to the light a question that has provoked a debate several times, namely, whether young people are more dependent on their parents or not. In my opinion, as a newly mother who experienced a lot of difficulties, nowadays individuals prefer to make their own decisions instead of asking advise from older people. Although some may think in some countries, still people accept older rules and behave base on their permission, I would say it is not true about the majority of the world.

The foremost reason why I am supporting this idea lies in the fact that more education allows students to have more self-confidence. For example, most of them go to college or university which are far from their homes and they have to handle their lives without any help. This independency makes them stronger and assists them to deal with hardships. Therefore, after upper levels of education teenagers believe that they are more able to find the correct decision even about important issues such as marriage or career.

Another subtle point that I should deem is the fact that the Internet increases our knowledge about different subjects. For instance, when I was pregnant, my mother could not answer all of my question and resolve my doubts. After searching through the Google I could find the best option for me and after consulting with my doctor I was aware about everything. Hence, the Internet enables us to find similar experiences and information to choose the best option.

Admittedly, in some small countries, people still prefer to consult with their parents even if they do not have any professional information about a subject. One of my friends from Indonesia told me that she would not get pregnant unless her parents allow her. It is not acceptable for me, since nobody can understand my situation better than me and my husband so after getting pregnant I announced it to my close family and after 16 weeks I publicly celebrated my pregnancy and had a gender reveal party. As a matter of fact, there is not the same opinion about making decision all over the world.

Due to aforementioned discussion explored in the previous statements, I strongly asserts that younger people have the capacity to make their own decision, even though it is better to consult with their parents.