Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use specific reasons and examples to

Young people are more or less dependent on their parents. Whether they heavily rely on their parents to make decisions or not defers from person to person, but I believe that adolescents nowadays are better at making decisions by themselves. I will argue from two perspectives, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, younger generation is exposed to an outpouring of information on a daily basis thanks to the internet. This could not be attained thirty years ago. They are accustomed to using social networking services or world wide web, which means they are constantly in touch with myriads of pieces of information. The internet has enabled us to keep in touch with our friends with just several clicks. Personally, I have my facebook account, my instagram account, and the like. These social changes have brought about a more facile access to their questions about anything. For instance, young people can count on their online friends to ask about their relationship with the parents or other friends. The internet has offered other options than to count on one's parents. It is obvious that the internet has functioned to keep adolescents away from their parents.

Another change I have to point out is that the social structure has changed over the decades. In my country, it was a common assumption until few decades ago that people are married to the certain partner who their parents believed is a good one. This notion began to change about twenty years ago, when same-sex marriages started to be acknowledged as a form of love. Before that, people have to take their parents' thoughts into consideration. However, now young people are free from their parents when they want to get married. This kind of social changes have served as a catalyst for less dependency of younger generation on their parents.

These two viewpoints, the internet and the change in social structure, made it clear that young people nowadays are less dependent on their parents than they are in the past. Therefore, I am convinced that the presented statement is true.