Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Art and music have a greater contribution to society than science and math

I basically do not agree with the idea that art and music have contributed more greatly than science and math. I would like to challenge this statement from the following three perspectives: convenience, fight against diseases, and superiority of science to art.

Firstly, science have put forward and brought about undeniably convenient societies. It has never been possible before the scientific revolution to use disposable plastic bags or straws, which play a pivotal role in today's society, keeping food and drink sanitized. We are also making the best of scientific progress by using air conditioners or cleaning equipments. They have removed troublesome daily chores. Therefore, they are an essential part of our lives. These kinds of convenience could not be achieved with artistic performances.

In addition, science have made it possible for us to protect ourselves from a wide range of diseases. Until recently, an average person could live up to fifty years old. They died mostly from infectious diseases because of the lack of hygiene consciousness. In contrast, there are a few people who live more than a century. This was unthinkable only six or seven decades ago. Advances in the field of science, particularly in medicine, have put our earthly time longer and longer. This contribution to society is much more crucial than that of art and music.

It is sure that art or music have the ability to heal our minds. It provides us with the opportunities to refresh ourselves, and a plentiful amount of works have been created by various artists along their history. It is true that, in a sense, they have contributed to our societies. However, when compared with the achievements of science, they have not had much to do with the human progress. Science has served as a catalyst for social changes for a long time and epoch-making technologies based on science have moved forward our environments over and over again.

For these three reasons, I definitely believe that science and math have much more contribution to the society than art and music, which is opposed to the presented statement.