Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In today's world it is more important to work quickly and risk making mistakes than to work slowly and make sure that everything is correct.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Generally in software industry, when product managers are planning the task schedule for their engineers, there are two kinds of strategy to approach. One strategy is to finish as many tasks as possible in a work week, the other one is planning each task as elaborated as possible and let the engineers to do only one task in a work week. Which strategy is superior? This topic has been hotly debated for countless years, however, it is my contention that we should always follow the slow strategy. Let me elaborate.

First of all, when the time is limited and the deadline is near, engineers would become panic and rush their works. This may produce a lot of bugs inside out software. If there are bugs, engineers would need to debug their software, which is notorious of time consuming and frustrating. Sometimes the bugs would be so small that no one notices it, and then they would produce more bugs based on them. When the engineers notice this situation, usually it is too late and the only way the could do is to start over again.

Secondly, it never harms to plan your software structure as deep as possible beforehand. If we have plenty of time to plan our software, many potential bugs would not appear in the first place. For example, one of a project in my team is not well designed enough. When the engineers completed the software, they found out that the schema of the output data is totally different to what the client wants. This reason behind this is that the client changed their request document during our planning phase, and the manager is too eager to finish the software on time and did not notice the change. As a result, we have to redesign our software and the ship date is, of course, delayed by this.

To conclude, I think we should focus more on qualities rather than quantities. Working slowly may have lower production rate than its counterpart on the first glance, but the production rate is more stable and safe and have the potential to surpass thein the long run.