Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to relax by watching movie or reading a book than doing physical exercise. Explain your answer with examples and specific reasons.

These days, in order to make headways and progress in this sophisticated world, most people spend too much time working, studying and so on. Without any doubt, this kind of living can lead to a hectic life; therefore, after doing stressful jobs and studying with a lot of pressure, they need something to refresh their mind and make their body relax. To accomplish this, there are various ways, and choosing the desirable mood depends on each person’s lifestyle. Thus, a controversial question which is often raised regarding this idea is about the best ways to achieve this goal. Some people may hold the view that watching movies and reading books can help them relax; however, some others may take a different perspective and believe that physical activities and exercises are better options for achieving this purpose. I am personally, in agreement with the latter opinion. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding rationales to justify my point of view.

The first remarkable reason to be mentioned is that researches have proved that when people exercise, their body releases chemicals called endorphins. These hormones interact with the receptors in their brain that reduce their perception of pain; as a result, they can trigger and spark a positive feeling in the body and make it relax. As a matter of fact, doing physical activities not only will help them improve their physical strength, but also could be helpful for their mental alleviation. To shed light on this reason, I would like to draw your attention to my personal experience. Two years ago, I used to exercise regularly, and whenever I went to the gym, I became much more relaxed and energized, but unfortunately now, I quit doing physical activities because of my busy life and I have much higher stresses than two years ago. If I continued doing daily exercises, I would be able to manage my frantic life in a more relaxed mood.

The second pivotal reason that is worth being taken into account meticulously is about that exercising requires passive attention instead of active attention. In fact, I do believe that when people try to read a book, they have to focus on whatever has been written in that book carefully, otherwise, they cannot grasp the details. For an instance, when I jog alongside a lake near where I live with closed eyes, I get really calm with an easy mind and I could be able to think about nothing. Thus, people could gain tranquil time by doing physical activities just like a low-hanging fruit.

To make a long story short, this is my deep belief that if people want to relieve tensions of their life in their leisure time, nothing better than dynamic life can set the path toward it. Additionally, if one weighs the merits and demerits of this statement, one soon realizes that doing regular exercises is much better than reading a book or watching a movie to unwind and make somebody feel at ease. All the aforementioned reasons point to my vantage point; consequently, it is highly recommended that one not underestimate the effects of exercising in his life in order to become more relaxed.