Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning methods have been a debatable issue. Teachers argue that grasping ideas and concepts is more crucial than learning facts. Personally, I agree with this argument.

On one hand, what takes my priority is study efficiency. It is well noted that many different ideas and concepts are more related to each other. In other words, many of them are based on other ones, and they can be easily derived directly. Accordingly, students are able to see links between different ideas (or concepts), thus stand a golden chance to remember and understand them with less difficulty. As a result, students study at a faster rate, leading to great enhancements in their academic performance. More importantly, the fact is that many ideas and concepts explain how something works, or why something is the way it is. Subsequently, this likely helps students get a better understanding of their school subjects, as they are bound to be made clearer and more intuitive by the ideas and concepts they have learned. Correspondingly, students have a greater opportunity to perform better at school. Indeed, teaching ideas and concepts augments students’ study productivity.

On the other hand, some people might say that making students learn ideas and concepts would be totally redundant since they are of very little value. As a consequence, too much time go to waste and students no longer perform well academically. However, that is not necessarily the case. In fact, many concepts are very informative and beneficial to students. They have a tendency to prove vital to students’ future career. Furthermore, it is common knowledge that ideas and concepts can be very exciting for students. Many of them are brilliant and unexpected, and able to surprise and satisfy curious learners. For that reason, there is likelihood that students enjoy learning new ideas and concepts, therefore developing motivations to study. It follows that students put large amounts of effort into learning. Consequently, they are sure to become more efficient and productive at studying. By and large, the claim that learning ideas and concepts is harmful to studying performance is intrinsically wrong.

In summary, for the aforementioned reasons, students are advised to learn ideas and concepts instead of facts. It is highly recommended that teachers take my writing into detailed consideration to make an appropriate decision on learning methods.