Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People learn things better from those at their own level—such as fellow

students or co-workers—than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or

supervisors.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is almost agreed that people learn from different sources such as school, books, their experiences and people around them. Personally, I believe that it more valuable to learn from people above us than learn from our peers. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, people at higher stages have more experience from our peers. While it is true that sometimes our classmates or colleagues could help us to learn a specific information, but they do not have the enough experience to relate or connect this small information or details to wider image. My experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in college, I was doing my major in sociology, and I had difficulty in understanding some economical concepts. Consequently, I went to one my friends who is majoring in economics to explain these concepts to me. And he did a good job doing that, but he was not able to explain these terms through sociological perspective, so I was not able to understand these concepts in my major context. On the other hand, when I went to a professor who specializes in sociology of economics, he made me able to understand these concepts very well. Therefore, the experience our teachers have, and the time they spent gaining knowledge make them better source to learn from than our peers.

Moreover, our teachers and managers have the required tools to deliver the knowledge they have. It is a part of their responsibility to teach others. In contrast, even if our peer have the knowledge or the skills we need to obtain, the might have not the ability to deliver these knowledge or skills to us. For instance, three years ago, I started to learn programming, and a close friend of mine is good programmer, so I asked him to teach me the basics of programming, buy he was not very helpful to me. This happened not because he lacks the enough knowledge, but his limited tools to transform this knowledge to others. Eventually, I had to take a special course for beginners by an experienced trainee. So I learned the basics that I was looking for.

To conclude, I am of the opinion that we could learn better from our teachers and bosses than from our peers. This is because the experiences the acquired, and the tools they hold to deliver this experience.