Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There have appeared endless discussions over teacher appreciation. Sociologists argue that society appreciated and valued teacher more in the past. Personally, I strongly disapprove of this statement.

On one hand, what takes my priority is teachers' value. It is well noted that education plays a more crucial role nowadays than in the past. For instance, it is important for people to have specialized knowledge for their specialized jobs, or a wide variety knowledge to understand events happening around them. For that reason, society put more emphasis on education, and so teachers, with a more crucial role, are highly likely to be valued and respected by society. More importantly, the fact is that anyone who is teacher certainly are much more knowledgeable now comparing to teachers in the past. Teachers nowadays are especially skilled at one subject, or thoroughly understand different aspects of their teachings. For example, a professor at a university is sure to be a specialist in their fields, or even a preschool teacher must have had plentiful training and experience with children. Therefore, society have a tendency to greatly appreciate and value teachers. Indeed, teachers nowadays are more appreciated than in the past.

On the other hand, some people might say that since technology has enable many, efficient resources and methods for self-learning, people are no longer dependent on teachers. As a consequence, society cease to appreciate and value teachers as much as it did before. However, that is not necessarily the case. In fact, only by being taught by a human being can people completely grasp and understand the material. Thus, teachers are still needed by society. Moreover, it is common knowledge that in the modern world, everyone goes to school from a very young age. They study under their teacher, and be not only taught facts or concepts, but also taught how to be a well-rounded human being. In other words, teachers are like a third parent to the children. Subsequently, people have a special bond with their teachers. Accordingly, society is bound to have great appreciation for their teachers. By and large, the claim that society has ceased to respect and value teachers is intrinsically false.

In summary, the higher importance of education, teachers being more knowledgeable and a third parent are convincing reasons for my disapproval. It is highly recommended that sociologists should take my writing into detailed consideration to make an appropriate decision on teachers' appreciation.