Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In my opinion, I agree with the statement that teachers were actually more appreciated by the society in the past than they are nowadays. I feel this way for many reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, the scarcity of learning resources in the past saved the teacher's role in the education process. Fewer books were available on a specific subject matter. In addition, access to these books were somehow limited in the universities or public libraries. what's more, the cost of purchasing a book was much higher than it's today when we take into account inflation effects. Hiring a tutor or attending schools and traditional classrooms were the most convenient ways to be mentored in a certain field. Therefore, teachers maintained an extremely influential effect and their services were highly recognized by the community. My own experience is a compelling example on what I mean. when I was young before the internet boom, I was interested in learning programming. Thus, I had to pay and enroll in coding courses provided by a private teacher to improve my skills in this arena since no digital sources were on hand. Hence, there was always a rising demand for educators in all fields and most people were more appreciative and grateful for their teachers.

Secondly, the digital revolution negatively impacted the central role of teachers. In other words, the abundance of resources online and off-line at a much lower cost or even free of charge has marginalized the teachers' contributions. Moreover, the growing interest in independent learning and online courses have made it difficult for teaching professionals to stay competitive. Most individuals nowadays have full-time jobs or parenting and they need to learn on their own schedule and only self-learning offers them this opportunity. In fact, the entire learning process is expected to change by the introduction of robotic teachers. For instance, I remember when I was preparing for a local competition in chess in my city. I was thinking to hire a tutor. Nevertheless, I ended up using ChessMaster, which is a computer game that also had tutorials to hone players' skills. As a consequence, the fierce competition from online educational platforms diminish the significance of teachers. As a result, learners would value their tutors less than before.