Do you agree or disagree: In order to succeed in study or job,the ability to adjust or adapt to changing condition or circumstance is more important than having knowledge.

It is tempting to think that the ability to adjust to changing circumstances will keep people from wasting opportunities, leading to a better chance to succeed in study or job. Nevertheless, from my perspective, having knowledge is more important than having the capability of adapting to different conditions.

On the one hand, without sufficient knowledge, awareness of knowing when to make a change is useless and ineffective. Flexibility is to notice the timing of changes while having adequate knowledge is to understand how to take action on that judgment. If one could only sense the opportunity but not to take advantage of it, then the ability to adapt to changing conditions is worthless. The Blackberry company, for instance, lost almost all of its' market share due to its less advanced technology of producing cell phones. In less than a decade, Blackberry's once safest and most popular phones have been beaten by its' strong competitors such as Apple's iPhone. Most people would assume that Blackberry lost because it was unable to detect changes in the market, which are a staple of the smartphone industry. However, few people noticed that Blackberry indeed designed several models of smartphones, but fewer people choose to buy them. These phones were less advanced in terms of their functions and had an operating system that could not be compared to that of Apple's. The real reason for Blackberry's loss is not its unwillingness to make a change, but the lack of knowledge about producing revolutionary phones.

On the other hand, knowledge determines the direction of the changes of circumstances and thus is more important. People who hold different views are confused about the cause-and-result relationship between flexibility and expertise. Variations of the environment often follow the updates of knowledge. The industrial revolution, for example, happened merely after the invention of many machines and improvements in agriculture. No matter how sharp one is, no one could foresee the changes in the method of production for humankind if not having access to specific knowledge.

Admittedly, being unable the adapt in a changing environment could make one's effort in vain as he or she works in the wrong direction. Nonetheless, many attempts to changes fail, but people are unable to see them. Efforts put in these experimental moves are not ineffective as well. As a result, no one could tell what is useful and what is not beforehand.

In summary, having knowledge is more significant than possessing the capability to change because knowledge is not only the basis of any movements but also the force to create such changes.