Do you agree or disagree with the statement People often buy products not because they really need them but because other people have them

Nowadays, with our society witnessing the unprecedented accumulation of material affluence, people are granted the chance to buy whatever they want. Whenever the motivation for making a purchase decision is discussed, a general controversy arises. Some people advocate that the masses buy a product just because others have already possessed it. However, I hardly concur with this assertion, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, people buy living necessities owing to their material needs. For goods like groceries, the main reason for buying them is to meet our basic needs, and since there is a huge disparity between people’s living standards, most people will not purchase something that is far beyond their financial ability. People even will cut down their expenditures on daily products to buy more products they want. For example, most undergraduates only possess less than 2000 RMB for monthly living expenses. Most students prefer to buy food, fruits, and clothes in cheaper stores and shopping malls instead of following fashion trends. In this way, they can save a huge scale of money and utilize the money to purchase useful books in order to improve their academic performance in university.

In addition, people also purchase goods to meet their emotional needs. To illustrate, some adults still buy toys designed for children and regard them as friends; they can embrace the toys to relieve the stress caused by living and earning money after a whole day of working. Some people prefer to buy CDs of their favorite idols. Maybe their idols are not outstanding or renowned at all, but they still render their support to the idols owing to the happiness brought by smiles and euphonious songs. It is investigated that the purchase choice of products is significantly associated with modern people's personal emotional needs. Enduring too much pressure, people are more emotionally traumatic than previous generations and they have some unique needs. Buying products that meet their unique emotional needs is one of the effective strategies to make themselves rejuvenate.

Admittedly, some people maintain that keeping pace with others when shopping is a good idea since you will always possess what is prevailing and readily sidestep common shopping pitfalls. It is reasonable that goods bought by numerous people have better quality and can satisfy most people's needs. Besides, it is also more convenient for us since making personalized decisions will definitely cost us a lot of time and energy. However, the fact that many people purchase what others possess does not mean most people give top priority to the popularity of that product without considering their factual needs when making the final decision.

In a nutshell, the reason that products satisfy people’s basic and mental needs should be put emphasis. All people have the right to buy whatever they want, and following others may not be the optimal choice.