Do you agree or disagree with the statement: University students should be required to take basic science classes even if they are not part of the field of the study.

Science has an important role in our society. Everything we have seen nowadays is part of science improvement. For instance, cars, the TV, and the food we eat today come from it. Therefore, I definitely agree that all students should take basic science courses for some reasons.

To begin with, through the study of science students develops team work. Some of the assignments given by chemistry require a partnership work. For example, in my first year of university, I saw an organic biology course as a basic science. There, I had to perform the work as a team player with my classmates. In one opportunity, we have to make a soup as an assignment. While one of my friends made the solution, I had to weight the powders to mix with the solution. If somebody failed his job, the whole experiment would be ruined. Although my field of study was not science, I appreciate the skill I developed there. This lesson of working in teams only is provided by assisting to science courses.

Second, learning science is fundamental to our life because this subject is part of our everyday. Understanding basic scientific knowledge enables a person to grasp details of his surroundings. For example, a few days ago, I was sick with a stomach ache. The doctor was telling me what was wrong with my body. While he was talking to me, I remember the basic knowledge from my biology classes from the school. Since I acquired this information early in my life as part of my formation, I was able to understand the reasons of my illness. I am positive that if I did not learn this previously, I could not know what the professional in medicine was talking about.

Finally, developing critical thinking is one of the greatest advantages of studying science. While art helps students to be creative, scientific knowledge enables people to develop new thoughts. For example, while studying in high school, I learned about the creation of the universe theories. Two are the most popular; the theories of evolution and creation. Since some supporters state that god created the planet, others believe we become from apes. Therefore, I understood that I can disagree with both theories and have my own truth. Hence, I believe in both theories, so I do not stay attached to just one.

To sum up, I concur that students should see basic science even though they are studying a career does not involve it. Students develop teamwork and critical thinking skills. Moreover, this subject forms part of our daily basis, so we must understand it in order to keep going with our life.