Do you agree or disagree: These days children spend more time on doing homework or participating in school-related activities or sports. However, they should be given more time to do whatever they want.

Extracurricular activities are the kind of experience that could have a formative impact on children. Some educators argue that young kids should be given permission to decide how to spend their spare time after school. I think it is a smart move.

To begin with, after-school activities are supposed to be fun and it would not make any sense unless children are to decide on their own. When schoolwork has already put too much strain on children, they would easily burn out if they are deprived of the right to do what they want. Some may argue that school-related activities and sports events can also serve as a good way to release stress, but let us face it, it is next to impossible to cater to all needs. Everyone has their own passion to pursue. When I was a kid, I was a huge fan of classical music, but instead of taking me to concerts, my folks gave me a soccer and sent me to tryouts. It was totally a nightmare. I could not sleep at night at all, feeling so tense and stressed up. Even up to now it still gives me creeps when I am reminded of this experience. Only when children spend their spare time on what truly appeals to them can they take a break and recover from the stress of study.

Besides, it opens up doors to limitless possibilities for children who have a hard time coping with school. I know a kid who did not do well in school, neither did he show any interest in sports. But he was so fascinated by Chinese herb that he could spend hours watching documentaries about traditional Chinese medicine or looking up original references in the library with relish. His parents never forced him to study for the sake of school, but rather showed great support to him and even signed him up for an online Chinese medicine course. When he applied for college, he handed in a personal statement that stood out instantly. Later on, he was admitted to NYU with a full scholarship because not only he shows great promise in medicine, but his one-of-a-kind hobby speaks of novelty and courage. If his parents failed to be so open-minded, he would end up with a poor grade and a low self-esteem.

In a word, apart from schoolwork and sports, children should be encouraged to follow their heart and explore their own interests when they are free.