Essay topics: TPO-10 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Nowadays many parents tend to believe that playing computer games is useless activity. Although I could understand the ideas on which the stance is based, I cannot agree with it because of reasons which will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, it seems that role of computer technology in the nearest future will increase tremendously, thus youngsters who spend their free time playing video games, in fact, acquiring a useful skill which will help them in the future. For instance, today military service uses drones for attacking terrorist positions and for recognition as well. Those machines are remotely guided by pilots who use programs similar in appearance to gameplay of avia shooters. Moreover, the usage of computer technology and remoted control will be growing in many fields from delivery to law enforcement. As a result, a child who plays video games today will be able to find a decent job in the future.

Secondly, computer technology is penetrating all aspects of our lives, we routinely use smartphones, laptops, e-tables for studying, working and leisure activities. Some futurists predict that during our life-span our houses will be turned into digital havens and therefore, it is important to get used to the computers and playing games allow progeny to become familiar with it. Furthermore, living in the world of tomorrow seems to require from a person to be able to interact with computers. Even today, for instance, a senior citizen who cannot use computers is limited in his freedom, he cannot buy food, clothes and services online, additionally to it, he is not able to employ free services such navigation, searching which make our life easier; because in the future we will even more relay on the technology, the described situation would become worse.

Finally, we are human beings and each of us is part of society and computer games have become a part of our everyday life. If a child is not allowed to play the games, the one will be inevitably ousted by the rest of children. Computer games are a kind of glue, a common interest among children which allows them to interact with each other. The video games have substituted games of our childhood which we used to play on a playground. Additionally to it, internet services and games have come a mean of socialization via which youngsters learn social rules and norms. Thus, a good parent who cares for a child should give access to computer games.

To wrap up, computer games are a part of contemporary society which plays a significant role at life of our offspring; furthermore, playing the games forms and develops skills and expertize which will be useful in the future.