Essay topics: TPO-46 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is a widespread belief that the opinions of well-known entertainers and athletes have more effect on young people than on older ones. Although this idea may have some flaws, I accept and support it in general because of the reasons which will be discussed in details below.

Firstly, the majority of contemporary famous entertainers and sportsmen use as a main means of communication such social services as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram which are heavily used by youngsters as well. Many adolescents and young adults are subscribed to the channels, pages and accounts of the today's stars. The information from those sources are often discussed and shared among the subscribers as well. By contrast, people who belong to an older age usually do not have this kind of addiction to the internet services and they do not follow those famous personalities on-line.

Secondly, many young people do not have completely formed opinions about many topics. Thus they may easily accept opinions and prospects of their idols. By contrast, middle aged adults and retirees have already formed their positions about the majority of questions and it is quite a difficult task to alter it. To buttress the stance we may take look at some psychological researches which were carried out on a large group of people who were aged from 15 to 80. The people were given certain information which formed their opinion about a novel issue about which they didn't have any previous knowledge. The study showcased that before an opinion formed it is easy to impact on it; however, after an opinion is formed it remains stable.

Finally, many youngsters pay attention to words and opinions of celebrities because they do not have real troubles about which they have to care of. I profoundly believe that not having real difficulties and necessity to be responsible for someone allow them to be passion about opinions of famous people. However, the situation changes dramatically after they become adults. I can illustrate this position via my personal experience. When I was a teenager I adored Eminem and his music, I paid attention to his words and opinions; however, after I married my beloved wife and a daughter was born, I forget about Eminem and all my attention was devoted to my family and necessity to create comfortable conditions for the spouse and the baby.

To wrap up, young people pay attention to the opinions of modern celebrities because of many reasons and the main one is that they are young and nonchalant.