Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Waste that is produced by the humankind has recently become a grave issue that must be addressed. Many claim that laws are needed to tackle the problem and this prospect is in accordance with my opinion. Below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details.

Firstly, megalopolises and even small towns are being suffocated by waste that is produced by the inhabitants. Moreover, the number of those who live in urban areas keeps increasing steadily and the problem with waste will be only worsening in the nearest future. Thus, to change people’s behavior quickly, laws are needed. A majority of people are law abiding individuals who will likely comply with the passed legislation without protests. Consequently, the urgent situation will be significantly alleviated in a short period of time.

Secondly, some people do not believe that protection of environment in general and recycling of waste in particular are important. They will not probably listen to arguments of others who try to raise awareness of public. Sadly, the number of the unbelievers is high. To illustrate, a study that was conducted by the economist reveals that about 33 percent of questioned Americans do not trust to scientists and do not wish to alter their habitual behavior; they are going to stubbornly continue throwing plastic, glass, paper and organic waste in the same basket as long as they are allowed to do so. Under such circumstances passing new legal requirements seems to be the most efficient way to change the current trend. In fact, laws are rules that must be followed by people whether they like them or not. In other words, legal means are highly efficient in dealing with those who are not cooperative.

To sum up, the world is heading to an imminent ecological catastrophe that may be avoided only by making new laws that will require citizens to start participating to recycling waste. This step will bring quick results and will have an impact on conduct of all categories of citizens.