28/10/2017

Animals are used by humans for profit in many ways. However, some people don’t agree with this use of animals. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Since the stone age, humankind has been using animals for profit in a wide variety of ways. However, some aver those practices should be stopped. Below both prospects will be discussed and author’s opinion will be given.

On the one hand, exploitation of animals is a necessity. Firstly, many traditions, customs and rituals are rooted in human interaction with animals because for hundreds and even thousands of years, livestock has been providing mankind with food, clothes and workforce. Keeping exploiting the living creatures means to be in touch with our history and cultural heritage. Secondly, animals are an indispensable source of food. If today there left on pigs, no cows and horses, a half of the humanity would die from starvation and food shortage within a month. Moreover, economies of many states badly depend on the revenue got from sales of meat, animal skin and dairy products. Taking away this resource of income will inevitably devastate the citizens of those countries. In other words, using animals for profit is needed for keeping traditions alive and fueling the economy.

On the other hand, many individuals are against the usage of living creatures. Perhaps, the most widespread argument is the immorality of mankind’s actions. In fact, bringing up animals and then killing them ruthlessly is rather a barbaric practice, in particular, from a point of view of city dwellers who do not get used to such cruelties. Furthermore, the advancement of modern technologies will provide human beings with a possibility to grow artificial meat, skin and other products on a big scale. In fact, such technologies have been available for a couple of years by now.Thus, the victimization of animals may be stopped without creating a food deficit.

In my opinion, although our past is bond with killing and using living creatures, we ought not to try to stop the progress. Disawoving the past habits and customs that have become obsolete and embracing the new ones that will not involve using animals from making money is a right action to do.