It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Many claim that punishment is, in fact, an indispensable educational tool that ought to be used to develop in the offspring a correct understanding of good and evil. Although this prospect has many supporters, I strongly disagree with it. Below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details.

Firstly, usage of any kind of punishment will likely have an adverse effect on kids’ health. Needless to say that injuring a child should not be allowed under any circumstances but even hitting a young person may be bringing a wide variety of problems from violent behavior to anxiety and other psychological issues in the future. Moreover, it is often assumed that emotional punishment such as ignoring a kid could be used without consequences; but pundits have decisively proven that young children who felt that they are being ousted by the most valuable blood-relatives will likely develop addiction to alcohol, tobacco or other drugs later in life. In other words, penalizing has a disadvantageous effect on the reproached posterity.

Secondly, there is a myth that punishment is an efficient mean of bringing up. However, a sociological study that was conducted in the USA and the EU has demonstrated that penalizing bears only short living changes and consequently the scientists concluded that punishing is deemed to be rather inefficient. For instance, someone who is reproached for using swear words will unquestionably avoid pronouncing them when he is heart by parents but he will apparently use them vigorously as an act of protest when he is not observed by adults. Therefore, adults should try to find an alternative approach to bringing up their progeny.

To sum up, punishment in its many forms should not be applied on children because the method frequently is harmful for health and well-being of those who are disciplined; moreover, it is not as effective as many tend to think.