it is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

punishment is being treated as the key factor to make someone undergo pressure and get the desired things done from them, this is particularly applicable to children when they are at budding stage of about 10 to 12 years. some would believe that punishment can bring the change in them or make them learn the difference of what is right or wrong, this is true to some extent but, it can result in ruining the kids entire life in the future. Allowing children to understand these variations can also be explained by making them sit and telling them explicitly of what a good behaviour is.

To begin with, every one at certain point of time might face difficulties in achieving something or fail to satisfy the demands of their superiors due to unforseen circumstances and it also applies to kids, afterall they're young generation and needs time to habituate for what is good or bad. punishing them mercilessly would make them grow resisting and they reach to a threshold and turns back saying they can do nothing with what they are required to do or understand. For instace, a recent study on more than 50% of schools in India revealed that students are failing due to punishing them very often by teachers and lost their concentration on studies because of the fear about what punishment they had to face every other day.

Moreover, when a kid doesn't understand what they need to do to maintain a good behaviour even after multiple explanations we could try to avoid giving them the perks or appreciations and prevent them from reaching their personal belongings such as toys or favourite things which does not physically impact them but could fetch better results than punishing or torturing them. I completely believe that when we beat them for wrong actions they feel bad and remeber the incident for whole life. this can be handled properly with a bit of patience and attention when something goes wrong with children. For example, The United States schools implemented a rule that all students attendance is at risk when they don't behave properly with their peers or other people even outside the school premises. this kind of punishments could tackle the issue with precision and causes no harm to kids.

In conclusion, although punishment at times could yield the desired results, in the long run it might affect the child behaviour pattern and result in psychological disoders which kids don't deserve. I agree that punishment when given should only be in the limits and can help children understand better of what they do and what should they avoid to do thus, growing a better personality