It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the opinionWhat sort of punishment should parents and t

It is undeniable that children should be taught to distinguish between right and wrong in their early childhood. Some people opine that punishment is the traditional method for teaching their wards to make out a difference righteous and erroneous. This essay will argue why punishment is entirely unnecessary despite some potential benefits.

The major reason why a bunch of people claim that punishing is the best method in order to teach their children about right and wrong is that there are plethora of mistakes a child make in distinguishing between these two since he or she is not mature enough to imagine its outcomes. That is why, a little punishment can help them to choose the correct option and not repeating the mistake in the future. Moreover, the children of current contemporary world as compared to those of previous centuries are found to be more stubborn and arrogant. For instance, a recent study shows that 21% of wards in India are relented to punishment because of their repetitive nature to choose wrong options. Also, some mothers can also stop their sons or daughters in order to help them in making right choices. Thus, children are more likely to get punished if they make wrong choices and for some parents, it does help.

However, punishment may not be the best method to guide a child in differentiating between correct and incorrect. Despite the minor advantage mentioned above, the idea that it is needed is completely preposterous because wards often get mentally sick; tend to be more exposed to the diseases like unnecessary fear, loss of mental ability, et cetera. For example, a survey was conducted by World Health Organization in 2010 in United States of America which yielded a result that children striking with punishment in frequent intervals as compared to those who do not, are more likely to be mentally sick and less able to understand the situations. Thus, this system is not applicable in case of children.

In conclusion, punishment for making such decisions is not only irrational but can lead to bad consequences. In my opinion, this is definitely not a valid option.