It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the opinion

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children.

It is undeniable that children should be taught to distinguish between right and wrong in the early childhood. In term of this section, some people argued that parents should inflict punishment, however, I believe that punishment is not an effective education method because its backdraws might overweight the potential benefits.

On the one hand, appropriate punishment could help to change children’s awareness. When they do something wrong such as disobeying or lying, parents have to warn them about their bad behaviour as well as briefly explain about its negative consequences. However, if children are too stubborn to follow their parents’ advise, it is necessary to mete out fitting punishment. Actually, these punishment can act as a deterrent to remind them to avoid repeating same mistakes in the future. For example, once I disparaged my father’s gift, a pencil case, because it was similar to my friends’ one, my mother punished me by making me to use a plastic bag as my new pencil case for the whole school year.

On the other hand, harsh punishment causes a variety of issues. Firstly, it negatively affects children’s physology. It could lead to mental disorder and serious depression in a long time, especially with small kids. Furthermore, severe punishment could pose a threat to children’s physcial health. When parents get mad at children, they are easy to lose their temper and resort to violence. In fact, there are many cases in which children are injured due to violent discipline at home. Moreover, harsh punishment frightens children rather than educate them. They respond more to affection than to punishment, thus they try to avoid face contact with parents and turn away from them.

In general, adults could choose appropriate education method with the view to warning children from unwanted behaviour such as withdrawal privileges, detention or time-out. Besides, imposing punishment fit the crime is an useful notion, which would be making children to apologize for their mistakes, to clean when they drop water or to pick rubbish they dropped. These discipline teaches children about responsibilities and behaviours to shape child’s personalities.

In conclusion, Punishment should be the last method to mete out in educating children about right or wrong because of its disadvantages.