Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football, while other people think that taking part in individual sports, like tennis or swimming, is better. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

People’s opinions differ on whether it is more beneficial to participate in team sports or individual sports. Although it is true that solo sports bring a number of advantages, I believe that playing sports in teams usually is a better choice.

On the one hand, one-person sports enable people to improve concentration and independence abilities. Firstly, as there is only one player in the games, people could avoid unwanted distraction from others, which prevents them from focusing on the games. For example, in team sports, sometimes, tension and disagreements among team members are likely to provoke heated argument. This irruption then distracts people’s attention from the games and wastes time of the players, who do not wish to be involved in this trouble. Furthermore, solo sports is an individual competition that requires complete independence. Without help, making decisions by themselves or overcomming difficulties on their own are essential skills for players to win the games.

On the other hand, it appears to me that team sports offer more benefits from social relationship and life lessons. Firstly, joining in a team sports is such a great opportunity to broaden social relationship because people can meet new friends and develop spirit of friendship. This bond of friendship could be strengthened by sharing same interests and interacting with each other while playing. Besides, when playing sports in teams, both failure and success will teach people valuable lessons such as teamwork and sacrifice. No matter how talented the player is, he must rely on his teammates and reach the same goals. Team members must work together and put themselves in other’s shoes, unless, they will miss their targets. For instance, in a football match, goal keeper, defenders or attackers in a team need to communicate and cooperate effectively, They have different assignment but share the same responsibilities for the success of the team.

In conclusion, while both types of sports have distinct benefits, I prefer playing sports in teams because of the above reasons.