Except for doing homework, parents should limit the use of children under the age of 13 on electronic devices such as computers and mobile phones. Do you agree or disagree?
Indisputably, preteenagers tend to be very interested in using technology; it is a world full of
curiosity for them. I concur that children should be controlled and restricted by their parents for
the use of electronic devices until they reach the age of 13. I substantiate my belief by providing
some supportive reasons that are elucidated below.
To begin with, by limiting the use of technology, children are more likely to be protected from the
dangers of technology. Most electronic devices have access to the internet nowadays;
therefore, if children use these devices uncontrollably, they might face the various dangers of
the internet. My sister's experience is a compelling example of what I mean. When my sister
was 9 years old, she was extremely eager to have her own mobile phone. My parents finally
agreed to get her one. Clearly, this ended up badly. Someone started talking to her on the web
and told her she was the same age as her. Things were getting out of hand when, fortunately,
my parents noticed this and prevented her from talking to that stranger any further. This
example demonstrates that since children are not sufficiently aware of the threats around them,
computers and mobile phones should only be used for school. Electronic devices can be
significantly hazardous to young children!
Furthermore, electronic devices are tremendously addicting and can be bad for the mental
health of children. In other words, children will end up spending the majority of their time using
computers or mobiles. Additionally, they will forget about the world around them. My own
experience demonstrates this concept. When I was about 12 years old, I had just gotten my first
laptop. All I did at that age, was play games and watch movies. I was so addicted that I forgot
about everything else and nothing else mattered to me. My grades dropped in school, I was
developing an unhealthy relationship with my parents, and I lost most of my friends. Hence,
electronic devices are unhealthy and can cause serious mental problems when not controlled by
parents.
All things considered, I strongly believe that unless children are using technology to get help
with their schoolwork, parents should limit their use of electronic devices. This is because
children will be protected from this unsafe world, and because they won't become obsessive.