The extended family grandparents cousins aunts and uncles is less important now than it was in the past

As technologies being much more advanced, we can keep in touch with relatives who might live far away from us more frequently in comparison to the past. I am of the opinion that the extended family is more important now than it was in a few decades ago. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, mobile devices today enable us to contact people who are not in the same place or even same time zone, and social media lead to the connection between us and people we have little chance to meet in reality. Thanks to the progressive society we live in today, we are able to participate to people's daily life in a digital way. For instance, my grandfather lived in mainland China loves writing and publishing his own articles online. When I was little, I only saw him about once or twice a year and had little common topic to talk about. As I grow up and start to read his posts and articles, I found out that I actually have a lot of questions and ideas to share with him. If it were not for the advancement of smartphone, I will never have the opportunity to get this close with my grandpa.

Secondly, the bond of a family needs lots of effort to maintain, however, it is the inventions of communication application that help us to build the bond stronger. Take my family for a compelling example, we have a family members group on the mobile application. And when it comes to festivals and important events, we can plan a family gathering easily using the app. Since it is effortless compared to making phone calls to each family unit within our big family, it increases the willingness to participate the activities.

To sum up, I firmly believe that extended family today is even more important than in the past. This is because the online interaction enables us to participate in each others' life more easily, and those innovative mobile applications reduce the effort taken to maintain a bounded family.