Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them

As the technologies advance more and more nowadays, we human are almost impossible to live without digital devices. For children nowadays, digital devices such as computer and iPad can play important role in their lives. While some people might think playing computer game is a waste of time and thus they prohibit their children to spend time on it. However, I personally think children shouldn't be prevented from playing computer games. My opinion is based on intelligence developing, social and training for self-control reasons, which I will explore in the following passages.

First and foremost, there are myriad types of computer games on the Internet, and some of them are developed with the purpose for helping children who are not intellectually mature to develop interest in several aspects of real-life topics such as the nature, physics, mathematics, space and so on. Take my cousin for example, she was exposed to a game featured building a virtual world using blocks of different shapes. Since she wanted to know how to build something extraordinary in comparison to the houses she encountered in real life, she tried to combine blocks and elements in thousands of ways creatively. She was so familiar with the concept of space that she even has the dream of being an architecturer in the future.

Second, from a social point of view, children will get along with their peers if they have more common topics to talk about. Therefore, once children are deprived of the time of playing computer games, there might be less connection between their peers who know about the trendy games and themselves. Children will have a sense of being isolated if they know nothing about what their peers are enthusiastic about currently.

Last but not least, playing computer games can be a method of training children for exercise they will to develop the ability of self-control. Parents can allow the children to play computer games under certain conditions such as finishing the homework or helping cleaning the kitchen before touching the computer, and can regulate the daily duration of playing games online. My cousin is again the perfect example for this. Because she has this "contract" with her mother about playing games on iPad, my cousin does her homework efficiently once she gets home. Learning how be productive and distributing your own time is an important lesson for children undoubtedly.

To sum up, I do not agree with the idea that children should not be allowed to play any computer game because it will deprive them of the opportunities of developing intelligence of various aspects, the firm connections they could enjoy with their peers, and the chances to learn self-control.