It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours

As the modern era we live in today, there are myriad types of jobs, and the working hours per week can be quite flexible thanks to the advanced technologies and novel digital devices. In my view, I would rather have a job working shorter hours for five days a week. My point of view is based on social, psychological, and economic aspects which I will explore in the following passages.

Psychologically, people have limited time of concentration on one specific task given in a fixed time span. What I want to emphasize is that it is not efficient to work long hours since the productivity would fall as the time goes by. Drawing the example from my own experiences: I sometimes have meetings for group projects with my schoolmates, and one significant observation of mine is that once we spend too long on one issue, we are less likely to figure out a perfect solution or answer efficiently since someone will start to bring about some irrelevant topic to distract others unintentionally. I believe the same rule can apply to working environment.

Socially speaking, because most of the friends of my same age work regular hours, it will be hard to hang out with friends on working days even if I don't have to work. Moreover, my parents are rather conservative, and this can translate to their perception that I am not hardworking and responsible enough as an employee once they know about the fact that I only work three days a week without taking in my explanation.

From economic perspective, working five days a week is definitely helpful for me to save because I would be eager to plan trips and spend time on leisure activities if I had four days off a week. Spending more days but shorter hours at the office per week will restrain my desire to travel regularly due to the fatigue from every working day, and I'll probably want to have simple dinner with friends or even just chill at home after work. In this way, I will shorten the time to save the amount that can achieve my life goals.

To sum up, working on long hours for five days a week is beneficial for high productivity, is persuasive for your parents and friends to trust your ability and responsibility at work, and is an efficient way for not to over spend your saving. As a consequence, I personally favor working five days a week.