The extended family is less important now than it was in the past.

Even though there is a widely held notion that the extended family is as important as in the past, I believe that it is losing its importance as the time goes by, and the communication tools become more extensive. My reasons for supporting this hypothesis are organized as follows.

First of all, communication and relation with other individuals were extremely restricted in the past. Therefore, being related in the extended family was a good excuse for people to be linked to each other and solve their issues by social interactions. On the contrary, nowadays, individuals can interact with each other independent of their culture, distance, or even language. Accordingly, they could create a human network which benefits them maximally. Moreover, the network would be flexible in size an type; meaning that people can adjust their human networks when they find it necessary.

Furthermore, nowadays, people tend to be less racist; as a result, they would unify more efficiently compared to previous generations. In other words, in the past, people had a belief that there are merits in being related with someone in blood, but now, the communities are going forward to believing the notion that all human beings are equally valuable, and they should be judged by their behavior, not by their race. This notion, practically, would cause a decline in the importance of relatives. For example, when I went to university, I met a broad range of peers with whom I had tremendous features in common so that I kept losing connection with my relatives during that particular time.

Finally, the size of the extended families is diminishing slightly, being occupied by several issues in our complex societies. The more complicated lifestyle becomes, the smaller family sizes would be. This phenomenon would lead to the fact that the family community is inadequate to socially satisfy diverse desires of human beings. This is the reason that people seek more friends and fellows from outside of their family, and subsequently, lose their interest in their cousins, aunts, uncles, and so forth.

With all being said, I draw a conclusion that hardly do people consider their extended family members as precious assets assumed in the past. This trend results from the fact that the world is becoming a global village, and consequently, local bonds would get looser as the world becomes more united.