The extended family(grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past.

The extended family was prominent in the past but is it still crucial in our modern society? this is the question that we have to ask ourselves. Some people content that they are still important when it comes to enjoying the intimate relationship. As far as I am concerned, the extended family becomes less crucial due to many reasons. I will try to elaborate on my point of view below.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that due to the advanced transportation system in this information age, people do travel a lot and many of them choose to move to another city, or even another country, to obtain more job opportunities or better life quality. No longer do extended family live together. Although family members can still get in touch with each other via modern devices such as mobile phone whenever or wherever they want, it is seldom a natural thing for them to get together and celebrate some important festivals. As the time went by, this long-distance relationship will gradually weaken the significance of the extended family. The importance of extended families fades with the busier life. Apart from this, with the accelerating pace of life, people are burdened with much more pressure than ever before. Thus, they are left with less time to maintain their relationship with extended family members. My roommate Emma is a good case in point. As a cheerleader and a member of the student union, she has to spare no effort to balance her study and after school activities, which makes her as busy as a bee. Although she misses her grandparents, she takes time from her busy schedule to make even a phone call.

Another salient point in corroborating with my stance that the improvement of the technology enhances people's living condition, makes their life more convenient, in another word, the people no longer need any help from their family since everything now becomes available. In the past, some people required their family's help ranging from assistance in the house chores or to sit with their children if they had work. However now, with highly advanced technology, you can do all the house tasks within a short period and without help. Nowadays the parent can get a babysitter to sit with their children if they have work. Some people think they can gain experience from the grandparents but, my own opinion, with access of the internet that we have right now in our world, we can get all the experience and knowledge that we need without any effort. On top of that, the government cares about the education; they try to improve the level of education to help children to get the best possible education. So, we do not need to acquire knowledge and experience from anybody else.

Another point that deserves more words is that under the new circumstances that we face in our world today, people will likely to live with their small care family rather than living with a large number of family members. Living with a large number of people gets you in trouble. They might interfere with your decisions and the rules that you set up in your family to let your kids grow on it and helps them to avoid any dangers. A vivid example can be given to shed light on that subject from my own experience; I was living in a big building with my grandparents and my aunts. Once a time I won the lottery of the USA. Everyone in my family members gave his opinion and saw, and their thought that was the right thing should do. Many perspectives over one something let me to feel hesitation and put me in trouble with my wife since she would like to try to live in the USA and would like to give her children have a better future. Sometimes I felt that my parent's opinion was right since it was tough to live in a new country without friends and had to adapt to the new culture, and traditions. So, these worries let me obey my relatives' decisions. A few years later, I regretted everything in my original country became expensive, and even I couldn't satisfy my basic needs. I think if I decided by myself, I would not take my parents' decision. Thus living away from your extended family protect you from being in trouble.

All these considered, the extended family becomes less crucial when it comes to being independent, and the improvement of the technology has facilitated all the house tasks. So, you do not need any further help.