TPO-06 - Independent Writing Task Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

with the development of the technology, people have accomplished many great achievements to make the world better place to live such as in computer science, manufacture, and machine. the issue whether life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children or not aroused much controversy among different people with different cultures, perspective, and different ages. Some contend that the life in the past easier than today due to the absence of the fierce competitions that present in our world today, and their dreams were so simple. However, I completely agree that the life is easier now than it was when our grandparents were children since the development of the technology that contributes to making our life more convenient and a single world culture.

The development of the technology has generally enhanced people's living conditions, making our life more convenient. For example, with a highly developed vehicle such as fast-train and jet airplane, we can go to work in a place far away from our house in some minutes or travel from one country to another in several hours, while it took our ancestors several months or even years in the ancient time. Electrical appliances and tools, ranging from washing machines to microwave ovens, also provide convenience for us. No longer do we need to go down to the river to wash our clothes on the rocks or to spend a lot of time heating our food with wood and charcoal. Nowadays, our daily chores become merely simple tasks, needing only very little efforts in our life. It is technology that has cleared away the barrier the once prevented people from leading a convenient life.

In addition to the convenience, technology development has significantly facilitated the communication among the people from all over the world, which has resulted in a single world culture. As an example, people can chat with a friend or a stranger who live abroad over the phone, or the internet, and they can see and listen to him through the camera and the microphone attached to the computer which was not present in the past. the people in the past have to go visit each other only since it is the only way for communicating. Nowadays, the ease of communication and sharing ideas help one culture to learn from other culture and bring the world together. More specifically people used to wear their local custom in the past, After they can see each other through TV, nowadays T-shirt and blue jeans have become a symbol of universal customs for the people, which is concrete example that the modern technology is creating a single world culture.

As all things considered, in the past while there is intimacy atmosphere due to visiting each other, and the slow-pace environment, they do not enjoy their life due to the absence of the technology. With the development of the technology, people can enjoy more convenience, and turn the world into a global village, and makes the world a much better place to live.