Some students like classes where teachers lecture (do all of the talking) in class. Other students prefer classes where the students do some of the talking. Which type of class do you prefer? Give specific reasons and details to support your choice.

Teaching methods have considerably evolved during the last decades, allowing pro-active interaction between students and teachers. Some people prefer old-fashioned teaching style where the teacher does all the talking because they believe that the teachers are the only person can provide the students with a wide variety of knowledge. However, from my perspective and actual observation of the life makes me believe that interactive classes are more an efficient way to learn and will help the students to acquire many skills. I will elaborate in more details below.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that I feel that classes where I have the opportunity to speak help to develop my intellectual abilities. Courses where the teacher does all of the talking are very passive, in my opinion. They mostly involve the memorization of facts and details which do not help students in the long run. On the other hand, classes which include a lot of debate and interaction create knowledgeable students since they can change idea, and thoughts together that will give them a better understanding of all the knowledge and incite them to think. I will give my self as a compelling example to illustrate this point when I was in pharmacy school I took a political science class that changed my way of thinking about the world. The cut and thrust of debate in the class made me consider where my political beliefs came from and if they were correct. I was required to listen to the opinions of others, so I was a more open-minded person after the class finished. I believe that I would not have developed in such a way by just listening to lectures. This example demonstrates how valuable discussion-based courses can be.

Another reason that deserves more words is that classes that involve a lot of discussions can help students develop the skills necessary to work well in groups. Many first-year students arrive at the university are very introvert and unable to communicate well. Discussions in class teach students how to communicate effectively, and they can use this skill to excel in their future careers. My older brother’s experience demonstrates that this is true. When he started university, he was a very introverted person and did not enjoy either communicating or working with others. However, after one year of participating in debates, discussions, and presentations in his classes he became a very confident communicator. As a result, when he began his career after graduation, he excelled in group work and was seen by his co-workers and supervisors as a natural leader. He was promoted quickly and advanced through the ranks of his company. Without participating in discussions with his professors and classmates, he would not have developed the skills necessary to succeed in this way.

As all things considered, the discussion in the class will bring numerous benefits for the students like the more debates the students involved in, the more knowledge they will gain, and they will acquire many communication skill which benefits them in the later life.