Some students like classes where teachers lecture (do all of the talking) in class. Other students prefer classes where the students do some of the talking. Which type of class do you prefer? Give specific reasons and details to support your choice.

Teaching methods have considerably evolved during the last decades, allowing pro-active interaction between students and teachers. While some people prefer old-fashioned teaching style where the teacher do all the talking, I am more fond of interactive classes. This is due to the fact that it encourages the liberty of the speech, and because it is more a efficient way to learn. I will explain my statement in detail, in the following essay.

First and foremost, this method allows students to express their own ideas which is a significant point for their future. At present time, my country is governed by a democratic system, but in the past it was ruled by a dictator who did not permit people to think. Furthermore, this situation used to start since childhood, when scholars were forced to study and accept concepts that were against freedom from all its points of view. I myself experienced this with some of my old teachers. Even though the regime was over by the time I went to school, the professors have inherited that autocratic style. They were not able to change their methods within a few years. As a consequence, whenever my colleagues or I tried to approach the lessons from a different point of view, our ideas were rejected and we were brought to silence. Professors saw us like a hopeless generation, who could not be submissive to what they considered traditional and ethic rules. Thus, interactive lessons ensure freedom of expressing personal beliefs.

Furthermore, interactive lessons facilitate accumulation of information. Students tend to be more active, attentive and involved in a topic when they are included in a discussion, conferring them more vital status within the class. Therefore their presence appear to be significant for the on-going class. Moreover, when debating a problem, some aspects of the topic is being memorized during the lesson, so they study less at home. My experience is a compelling example. Back in high school, our history teacher used to have a similar approach during his classes. Prior the lesson, he was providing us with some reading materials. We did not have to memorize by heart, but to have a general idea about the issue that was going to be discussed. The professor was engaging us in a debate, challenging us to give our opinion on the actions made by our ancestors. Questions like " Why do you think war was necessary?" or "Why religion was an important part of the society?" made us reflect and understand better the history.

To summarize, a class where both the teacher and the students are talking, is more beneficial than

a lecture one. This is because it creates a proper environment for pupils to voice their thoughts and because it speeds the process of learning.