Would you prefer to live in a traditional house or in a modern apartment building? Use specific reasons and details to support your choice.

A house reflects, undoubtedly, a part of a person's personality. One may opt for a modern apartment building, or a traditional house. As far as I am concerned, I would definitely choose the latter option due to the fact that it offers more privacy and quite environments. I will explain my reasons in detail, in the following essay.

First, living in a traditional house is better from the intimacy point of view, because there are less neighbors and "spies". When one lives in an apartment, that person must be careful not to do too much noise, not to listen to music very loud, inasmuch as these activities might disturb the neighbors, and consequently they might call the police. Moreover, every apartment building has its bored old ladies or housewives, whose main preoccupation is to watch who is entering the building, who is bringing who at home and so forth. Consequently, many individuals become the subjects of gossiping hot topics, that may spread within the building. For instance, back in college, I was living with rent in a block with two another colleagues. Once in a while, we had friends visiting us, and some of them were staying even for a few days. One day, an old lady, who was not dealing with administrative activities, stopped and asked me about these "inappropriate visits". In addition, she told me that we should pay more for the shared facilities such as water, garbage and heat, since our guests' visits were long. So, even though we were not giving parties and make noise, some people found some ludicrous reasons to gossip and criticize us.

Second, houses are usually situated in less circulated places. Even though, these may be placed in central locations, the traffic is not very intense, since there are less people living in those areas. Accordingly, the air is cleaner, the noise pollution is decreased and the environment is more proper for raising children. My experience is a compelling example. As a child I grew up in a house with a big yard, located in a relatively quite area. I could go outside the yard and play with my friends on the street, without being afraid that a car might hit us, because the traffic was low, especially during working hours. Moreover, whereas everybody knew everybody, it was considered to be a safe place.

To summarize, living in a traditional house is more advantageous and beneficial than residing in an apartment building. Houses offer a higher degree of intimacy, of freedom of movement and they are also localized in more qualitative and calm neighborhoods.