Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored oplympic teams.

Sports and arts both have always been among the most important things that each government should support. However, today, authorities wonder whether they should support athletics more or arts. In my opinion, it would be better if governments spend more money on state-sponsored Olympic teams because success in a big competition like Olympic would encourage lots of people to do sports. Moreover, nowadays, Olympic becomes a symbol of power among different countries. Thus, success in such a competition is important for all governments. I will illustrate my reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, success in a competition like the Olympic would encourage a lot of young people to do sports. In other words, success in Olympic would bring a huge sense of pride and happiness to the society that leads young people to do more sports. For example, 5 years ago, Iran national volleyball team succeeded to finish the Olympic games in fourth place. Actually, it was the most important title that our national volleyball team has been gained ever. As a result, all people were happy about their results and the main issue of every discussion even the country’s authorities was about volleyball. Consequently, lots of teenagers and youngs became interested to do volleyball as entertainment. Also, a lot of volleyball pitches were built for them by the government.

Second, today, Olympic is a symbol of power among different countries. In other words, Olympic is a tournament in which all countries of the world compete with each other in several sports fields to show others their abilities and how powerful they are. For example, if you look to the history of the Olympic's champions, you can easily realize that every time the most developed countries of the world like China, USA, Russia, Japan, etc could achieve the most titles even if their population is less than other countries like India. Thus, being a symbol of power, countries are trying to do everything to increase their rank for the next period. For sure, allocating more money to them is one of the best ways to help Olympic teams to push them toward success in the game.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that spending more money on sports teams would better than the arts.