If you are going to graduate from the university and have to choose the final course, which professor will you choose? The one you used to sign up for courses or the one you have never learned from before?

In contemporary society, the grade in school has become more and more important in both searching career and getting further education. As a result, the class selection in university should be prudent. While choose a last class in university, some people prone to select a class whose professor they have never meeting before, whereas I prefer a class with a instructor who I already familiar with; for there are many advantages.

To begin with, taking class with a known professor can get a higher grade. The GPA in university is so important for graduation students. Therefore, it’s important for them to devour to get a higher grade. With a professor they already familiar with, they will understand the style of lecture and the way they be scored. Hence, it is more possible for them to doing perfect in class and gain a perfect grade.

Moreover, taking a class with known professor can enhance the relationship between student and professor. A friendship with professor can be beneficial, sometimes it directly pave one’s way to success; that is, professor can provide those student suggestions and recommendations. If a student want to build a rock-solid friendship with professor, what way can be better than act aggressively in his class? For instance, when I studied in the San Francisco state University as an exchange student, I took a class called Engineering Economic. Because professor is knowledgeable and humorous, I attended his eery class and asked him a plethora of questions ranged from economy to engineering. It turned out that we became good friend that often email each others. Later when I want to apply for a university in Canada, he gave me a lot of valuable suggestion and promised write a recommend letter for me.

Granted, taking a class with an unfamiliar professor can be exciting, and that professor may also illustrate some understanding in different way. But, in fact, I think it is difficult to learn a lot of new stuffs in only a single class. Plus, the professor may have original teaching steps, which can be hard for unfamiliar to follow. It is high risk to take such classes.

In light of all above argument, I think it is safe to say that taking a class with a familiar professor has advantages overweighin the other one, for it can reduce the risk of ruining the class and have an enhancement in the relationship between student and professor.