If you could change one important thing about your hometown, what would you change? Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer.

I am from Assam, North eastern state of India, I would like to change the mindset of all the people to make them realise the seriousness of preserving the precious nature that we have. My hometown had a perfect balance between people and wildlife a long time ago but due to encroaching, poaching, and careless deforestation has led to its imbalance, which I believe can be recreated if all of us work together towards preserving it.

My hometown has been an inspiration for the whole of India. It is known for its natural beauty and the simple lifestyle of most of the people who live their life in harmony with nature. It has Kaziranga National Park, particularly known for the famous one horn Rhino. Apart from that, it has many natural parks and wildlife sanctuaries namely Manash Tiger reserve, Gibbon wildlife sanctuary etc. The matter of concern that i would the people to imbibe within them is that due to repeated instance of poaching the Rhino population has reduced to a dwindling scale as a result not only one species but all the other species, like elephants, wild hogs, deer, snakes etc. are suffering as a consequence. This cannot be stopped if people are not aware strongly about the consequences and ready to take action for the same. The same situation is even aggrandized due to encroaching by the people themselves, as the human population in increasing.

Hence, increasing population is a huge concern, due to the outburst of population and lack of land resources as well as income sources, people are encroaching over these natural reserves, destructing nature. There are also reports of smuggling woods and timber from the forest reserves. By doing so people do not realise that what they are doing is because of imbalance set off by none other than themselves, as a result animals are compelled to come out to the people’s areas in search of food and shelter. I want the people to understand this particular imbalance.

Because of this natural beauty, it is a tourist destination which is helping the state’s as well as the country’s economy. The national parks, bio diversity of flora and fauna, untouched mountains, the largest river island etc. is the richness of my hometown. And I believe that it can be preserved and shifted back to its previous state if people’s mindset can be altered to focus towards these matters.

What we are today is because of the nature, it has provided us the liberty to use the fruits of nature without any stymie. I believe why we are known all over the world is this natural beauty, huge old trees shading our grounds, pure air, wildlife and people living in harmony and the natural synchronization between the people and the wildlife. It was one of the perfect example of the equilibrium needed to preserve every living thing on earth. Therefore I strongly believe, if I could change the people's mind set towards these prevailing matters we can put a stop towards these things and can set an example in front of the world that every living thing can live peacefully and harmoniously.