If you could go back to some time and place in the past, when and where would you go?

If I could go back to some time and place in the past, I would choose the time I spend whole year as an exchange student in Finland.

Four years ago I decided to study abroad and until I left for Finland three years ago, I studied english so hard every day. At that time I was a college student and motivated to try new thing and get experience. I studied about media design in university especially web development. By studying about this field, I got interest to read an article in english so english was not a language also its the fact to help me to understand wide subjects and opinions from international people. Day by day I felt that my knowledge was built and expand my expectations and opinions. Also, I was satisfied with the time to spend for improving my english skill.

While I was in Finland, I was always straggling with communication with someone and develop my own opinion because of the culture differences between Japan and Western countries. In Japanese college, usually we listen to the lecture and do self study to learn something. However, in Finland, Almost all classes I required to have discussion in a group and develop my presentation skill. I was afraid of giving a speech in front of people because I thought if I make any mistakes, they would refer me as an idiot or non educated person. However, I met one girl from South Korea. She was a brave because there is no hesitate and ashamed from her. Her english was not perfect that was not a matter for her. She had confidences in the contents of her speech. After that, I asked her what brought her to that attitude and she told me that challenge and persistence were all we need. Showing my confidence to what I do is the important more than being good at speaking or something.

I would think that it is an important what we talk, what we think, how to solve problems we have more than how we act or language skills. My perspective and insight are totally different now and before because of the experience in Finland.