It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

No one can deny that there are pros and cons of being an erudite personality in multi subjects than being connoisseur of a subject. If I were forced to choose, I would definitely take a stance of being dexterous in specific one. It is my firm belief that expert in a subject matter would definitely help a person in his life for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, a person with adroit in a subject rather being jack of all would definitely progress in his life and get sustain in long run. This kind of personality always can accumulate lots of implicit ideas, which would definitely help him become an innovative one. As a result, he can be more pragmatic in the field of job and will be able to give more output. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter has been profoundly influenced by one of my friend. For example, he had penchant over a business since his childhood. His study about the business was so detailed and well researched that he invested his money on share market. Although he didn't have copious of money at initial stage, he got success in his later life. This example demonstrate that how the adroitness in a subject matter help a person to become a successful businessman.

Secondly, a well educated person in a specific subject is revered by the society and nation, which makes it possible to earn a good fame. So that, he would be able to live with dignity and can become the pillar of society who is always loved by the nation. Drawing from the experience of great poet Laxmi Prasad Devekota, it is clear that he was respected by the nation because of his knowledge. He lived his life in such dignity that people all over the country still revered him for his knowledge and contribution in the Nepalese literature. It is certainly clear to see why a knowledgeable person is worshiped by the people.

Lastly, I have to admit that in rare case jack of all is better, but not always. These days, when you can show that you do have penchant over so many things, you can get lots of attention from people. For instance, we can take a movie star posing as if they know many things in the story, which is certainly bogus. Moreover, their pose just in case of the story line of the movie for commercial purpose. In fact, movie star have only dexterity in the acting field, but not in the role they act. From this, it is clear that movie actor are the acting connoisseur not jack of every role they act.

For all the reasons I have stated above, an expert in a subject can be revered by the people and can get success in life. If we want to get success, we need to focus in one thing rather than involving in many things.