It has been said, "Not all learning takes place in the classroom." Compare and contrast knowledge gained from personal experience with knowledge gained from classroom instruction. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Since humans started to discover secrets of globe, they tried to share their idea and learn things that they did not know from each other. So, when the knowledge became more and more extensive which nobody could not be able to an expert in all fields, educational institutions were established. In similar vein, some people believed that self-studying and self-learning is more efficient way to be elaborate in a field and people should learn things though their own experience. Thus, both learning in class and learning through experience have their own advantages and disadvantages. In following, I will discuss about their benefits and weaknesses, then, I will talk about my own perspective.

About knowledge gained form experience, we know that it is very hard to achieve and needs perseverance, hard working and it results gradually. In this kind of learning, learner fails many times. Because there is no clear instructions, the results may related to chance. This process is a sort of examine and failure which person fix the problems step by step. This type of gaining knowledge was very common in past when scientists unable to access appropriate resources of contribution. For example, Thomas Edison tried and failed more than one thousand times when he was inventing lamp. Or another instance was Marie Curie that was succeed to extract Radium from raw materials but it took several years to became successful. In general, knowledge that comes from experience is very risky with a high rate of failure. Most of the people that gained knowledge from such experiences are now become known as pioneers of that field.

In contrast, knowledge which gains from classrooms is easier to reach. Students are taught by a trained tutor whose is aware about most of skills. In this kind of learning, students use books as references of gaining knowledge. The only thing that students should study these references thoroughly and try to memorize methods which discovered by self-studied and self-learned scientists. In this type of learning, students stands on the shoulders of pioneers of the pioneer scientists. It is more theoretically rather than practical so that most of students are knowledgeable but unable to apply that knowledge.

Personally, I think that we should gain theoretical part of knowledge in classrooms and practical part through personal experience. We can not only participate in classrooms and memorize books and expect that become a expert in that major. We need to apply our knowledge by practicing more and more in real situation. For example, If we want to have experience and knowledge about cultures like Marko Polo, it would be better to go to trip instead of reading his diaries. Or in order to be be god doctor, reading books is not enough to cure people. We need to spend some of our educational period in hospitals. As the Persian proverb says:" Listening is not like observing".

To sum up, both of these methods are requisite to be a knowledgeable person. In this era, it is impossible to be an expert and skillful person by only attending in classes or try to gain knowledge through personal experiences because the world is progressing in very fast pace.