It has recently been announced that a new restaurant may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why?

The opening of something as simple as a restaurant can bring about a lot of changes to a community. From my perspective, opening a restaurant can be beneficial for my town. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in further details.

To begin with, a new restaurant will offer lots of valuable job opportunities especially for young people who live nearby. Positions at the restaurant do not need much experience; therefore, they can be held by college students. Working part time can help students to pay for things like college tuition, which they may not be able to afford otherwise. My brother is a compelling example of this. When he was a freshman at college, a McDonald franchise opened near our house. He applied for an accountant position there and was fortunate enough to be hired. Thanks to the salary he earned during the weekends, he managed to pay all his college tuitions.

Furthermore, a new restaurant can introduce different cultures to people. These days many restaurants serve ethnic foods, which is an opportunity to learn about various cultures and cuisines. For instance, a few years ago a Mexican restaurant opened in my hometown. I had not eaten Mexican food at that time, so I went there and ordered a plate of food. Everything about that food was new to me, from the ingredients to the way they served the food. If that Mexican restaurant had not been established in my town, I would have not learned about wonderful and spicy Mexican cuisine. That was a fascinating experience for me, which even encouraged me to visit Mexico someday.

In conclusion, I totally support a new restaurant opening in my town. That is because a new restaurant will provide more employment opportunities; also, it provides a setting in which customers become familiar with other cultures and ethnic cuisines.