it is important to keep old friends than have new friends. do you agree or disagree?

While it is important to keep old friends, I nevertheless partly disagree with the statement. In fact, I hold to the idea that it is crucial to have new friends as well as to keep old friends for the following reasons.

Firstly, there is no denying that old friends have a quality that is unique and rare. This uniqueness is that they know you the best and lived with you most of your experiences since you were young. Also, they witnessed your different change phases from childhood till this moment. However, making new friends at different age phases is beneficial for self-development and confidence-boosting. Because socialization and meeting diverse types of people is an opportunity for learning and having different perspectives of life. For instance, there is a colleague at my job who became my friend this year. She helped me with a work issue, and I learned from her how to handle work problems since she is more experienced than me. Thus, old friends understand what I go through at any time of my life and comfort me. On the other hand, new friends continuously help me evolve and progress as a person.

Furthermore, people change homes from time to time for various reasons, and they leave to another city or a state. Seemingly, Connections with old friends in their hometown became less than they used to be. Therefore, meeting new people and having new friends is unavoidable. Because, by human nature, we are certainly happier when we socialize. For example, I had to move to another city when I got married and I felt lonely when I got there. However, my sweet neighbor invited me to a welcome party at her house which I attended. Surprisingly, I had so much fun at the party and got the chance to know other people in my neighborhood who became my best friends as well. That’s why surrounding ourselves with good new people helps us go through our lonely times away from our hometown.

Lastly, socialization is the heart of civilization. It is the process by which social beings establish wider and more profound relationships with others to broaden their perspectives and improve their personalities. Eventually creating a complex structure of a progressing civilization. Therefore, making new friends is a basic asset for society to stay stable and grow healthy.

To sum it up, socialization in the form of meeting various people, befriending them, and being surrounded by them is a dominant need for one’s development as well as the society as a whole.