It is important to keep old friends than make new friends

Although it seems like a good idea to keep your old friends but not making new ones does not sound good to me. So, I disagree with the following statement that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. This is because of the following reasons.

First, I prefer making new friends because it helps me in gaining maturity. For example, my father was in government job and so he used to get transfers from one city to another. As a result, we had to move along with him. This made me change my schools frequently and initially I disliked it. As, this made me leave my old friends whom I liked very much and enjoyed their company. In childhood it is easy to feel emotional towards your friends and I wanted to stay faithful to my friends. So, making new friends felt like a betrayal of their emotions. This is because they may not like me making new friends as it may make them feel as if they are no more important to me. However, when I was left with no choice than to move with my father, I was forced to leave my old friends. This was initially very tormenting to me and I felt very lonely without my friends. However, when I was admitted in a new school, I began to interact with new classmates and gradully started to know them. This helped me in interacting with them and gradually friendship grew out of these interactions in a natural way. Slowly I began to like my new friends as much as I did my old friends. But the process repeated itself and my father got transfered again. However, next time I didn't feel as devastated as I was now begining to gain maturity and an understanding that there are always good people in the world. Old friends are always missed and can't be substituted but new friends always bring in some fresh energy and in the end I had more good friends both new and old as compared to my friends.

Second, I like to learn new things in life. Now I realize that making new friends has helped me so much in learning new things that I may not have done otherwise. This is because each of my friend has a unique quality, characteristic and an inclination towards exploring something that attracts them. Being with different friends have helped me to appreciate different arts, sciences, cultute, religions and food. Whenever I am with a friend I talk about something that we have in commong that have made us become friends and then we explore the common interest in detail. For example, some of my friends like Indian food, some like to go to the science museum, some like to learn dancing while some other like going to concerts. As a result I got a variety of exposure and learned so many different things that I may not have learned otherwise if I had only few friends. This has tremendously helped me in gaining more knowledge of the world and myself.

As a result, because of the above reasons and the richness my new friends added to my life experiences along with my old friends, I disagree with the above statement. I now firmly believe that keeping your old friends while making new ones is the best way a person can enjoy and explore this world.