It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about how to distribute the money to support Internet access and the public transportation. However, whether it is more important for the governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation is a controversial issue. My view is that it is more important for governments to give financial supports to improve public transportation.

First, it is obvious that advanced public transportation could help the economic development of a country. This is because advanced public transportation, to some extent, means a high level of transportation, which could help the trades in the country develop much faster and go to more remote regions. Also, the advanced public transportation could reduce the traffic jam in the busy cities, and in return, decrease the time people spend on their way to work, increasing the efficiency of the daytime and the time people could spend on their works. So, it is important for the governments to spend money to improve the public transportation.

Moreover, improving the public transportation could help protect our living environment. For example, when the public transportation is enough advanced and convenient, residents would more intend to choose the public transportation as their way to go out. And this intendance would cause the less demands of the private vehicles, reducing the number of cars in the city. Thus, the pollution from cars would also decrease significantly, helping protect our living environment from the pollution of cars and traffic jams.

This is not to say that the access of Internet is not worthy of financial support of the governments. Of course, improving the Internet access could increase the potential job chances for people, since they could browse the websites to find potential jobs and try to get the jobs with convenience. But compared with the basic conditions of life, such as the public transportation, the priority of improving the Internet access is less than to improve the public transportation. Just like what we usually do when we choose dream places for our future home, we will tend to choose the places nearby the main roads or buses, for it is convenient for us to go to work or school.

In sum, governments should spend money to improve public transportation rather than to improve the internet access. Meanwhile, we should not ignore that after the finish of the improvement of the public transportation, we should also try to improve the Internet access. By doing this, we could make sure the stable and rapid development of the whole society.